THE BENNETT BLOG

Kapiti Coast Case Study

Posted by Sarah Cavanagh, Nikki Shaw on 24 August 2015 | 1233 Comments

Interested in setting up an adult fiction profile with James Bennett?

Read this case study from Kapiti Coast District Libraries who kindly shared their experience for our Adult Fiction Month.

Kapiti Coast District Libraries Case Study

Standing orders
We established a fiction standing order list with James Bennett, and basically began work on it with discussions at our very first meeting with staff from James Bennett.  Sarah Phillpot explained how the kits and selection lists worked, as well as explaining how James Bennett could provide profiled orders (standing order lists of authors most popular in our library).
 
Likes/Dislikes
May I quote Frank Zappa:  “So many books, so little time!”  You can take that as a like or a dislike!
 
How do we discover new authors
Looking at the New Releases lists, “What’s Hot,” subheadings under Fiction and poring through the selection lists provided based on our community’s favourite authors (including more than just our standing orders here).
 
Do we keep dead authors on our profile
Jane Austen isn’t there but we appreciate that sometimes reprints and reissues for our ‘dead’ or very prolific authors who’ve been writing since they were 5 show up on our lists.  It’s important to have those reprints and reissues clearly noted, though, so we can skip over them if we’re not interested.
 
Which authors do we like or don’t like
We’re a public library and as such cater to popular tastes so we may not always order some of the more literary titles; however, it’s great that James Bennett includes Literature as a heading so we can decide if there’s something there which would appeal to our more literary-minded readers.
 
How often do we update our standing orders/profile
Our plan is to do this annually.  We’ve recently run a “favourite authors” programme in the branches and on Facebook during Matariki and want to ensure we’re getting everything our community wants on our standing order list.
 
What is the relationship like with the James Bennett profiling team/Who do they usually call/email
I contact Nikki Shaw, Sarah Phillpot and Sarah Cavanagh, too.  We’re always referred to the right people if they can’t answer themselves.  We’ll remain forever in the Sarahs’ debt for staying silent about the Cricket World Cup on one our phone conferences which happened just the day after New Zealand’s brilliant run ended at the hands of the Aussies!  The soul of diplomacy, those two dear ladies!
 
Do we receive our titles quickly?
Like lightning!
 
Any questions

Jane George
Team Leader Paraparaumu Library
Poutoko Mātāpuna
Kāpiti Coast District Council
www.kapiticoast.govt.nz

Want to talk to us about adult fiction supply to YOUR library?

Contact your account manager today!

 



Post your comment

Comments

  • http://www.berponsel.com/2016/05/cara-menampilkan-subtitle-film-di-android.html

    Posted by Cara Menampilkan Subtitle , 04/08/2016 7:02pm (6 months ago)

  • http://www.berponsel.com/2016/04/situs-download-subtitle-indonesia.html

    Posted by Situs Download Subtitle Indonesia , 04/08/2016 7:02pm (6 months ago)

  • http://www.berponsel.com/2016/05/harga-dan-spesifikasi-sony-xperia-z1-docomo.html

    Posted by Harga Sony Xperia Z1 Docomo , 04/08/2016 7:01pm (6 months ago)

  • http://www.berponsel.com/2016/04/aplikasi-android-video-call-terbaik.html

    Posted by Aplikasi Video Call Android , 04/08/2016 7:01pm (6 months ago)

  • http://www.berponsel.com/2016/04/aplikasi-android-video-call-terbaik.html

    Posted by Harga dan Spesifikasi Xiaomi Redmi Pro , 04/08/2016 7:00pm (6 months ago)

  • http://www.berponsel.com/2016/08/harga-dan-spesifikasi-xiaomi-redmi-pro.html

    Posted by Harga dan Spesifikasi Xiaomi Redmi Pro , 04/08/2016 6:59pm (6 months ago)

  • http://www.berponsel.com/2016/06/aplikasi-karaoke-terbaik-untuk-android.html

    Posted by Aplikasi Karaoke Android , 04/08/2016 6:57pm (6 months ago)

  • http://www.berponsel.com/2016/01/download-game-pokemon-go-android-dan-ios.html

    Posted by Download Game Pokemon GO Android , 04/08/2016 6:57pm (6 months ago)

  • Download Game Pokemon GO Android http://www.berponsel.com/2016/01/download-game-pokemon-go-android-dan-ios.html
    http://goo.gl/egizca

    Aplikasi Karaoke Android http://www.berponsel.com/2016/06/aplikasi-karaoke-terbaik-untuk-android.html

    Harga Xiaomi Redmi 3A http://www.berponsel.com/2016/05/harga-dan-spesifikasi-xiaomi-redmi-3a.html
    Aplikasi Video Call Android http://www.berponsel.com/2016/04/aplikasi-android-video-call-terbaik.html

    Aplikasi Ramadhan Android http://www.berponsel.com/2015/06/aplikasi-android-ramadhan.html
    Harga Sony Xperia Z1 Docomo http://www.berponsel.com/2016/05/harga-dan-spesifikasi-sony-xperia-z1-docomo.html
    Situs Download Subtitle Indonesia http://www.berponsel.com/2016/04/situs-download-subtitle-indonesia.html
    Cara Menampilkan Subtitle http://www.berponsel.com/2016/05/cara-menampilkan-subtitle-film-di-android.html
    Game Balap Mobil 3D http://www.berponsel.com/2016/05/game-balap-mobil-3d-untuk-android.html
    cara Download Film di Ganool http://www.berponsel.com/2016/05/cara-download-film-di-ganool.html
    Cara mengirim File di Android ke PC http://www.berponsel.com/2016/04/cara-mengirim-file-dari-android-ke-pc.html
    Aplikasi Browser Android http://www.berponsel.com/2015/07/aplikasi-browser-android.html
    Aplikasi Pembaca Komik http://www.berponsel.com/2015/07/aplikasi-pembaca-komik.html
    Smartphone Gaming Terbaik http://www.berponsel.com/2015/08/smartphone-gaming-terbaik.html
    Aplikasi Convert Video ke MP3 http://www.berponsel.com/2016/04/aplikasi-convert-video-ke-mp3-terbaik.html
    Aplikasi Belajar Bahasa Inggris http://www.berponsel.com/2016/04/aplikasi-belajar-bahasa-inggris-terbaik.html
    Aplikasi Pembuat Logo http://www.berponsel.com/2016/04/aplikasi-pembuat-logo-terbaik.html
    Aplikasi GPS Android http://www.berponsel.com/2015/07/aplikasi-gps-android.html
    Aplikasi Antivirus Android http://www.berponsel.com/2015/07/aplikasi-antivirus-android.html
    Situs Download Wallpaper http://www.berponsel.com/2016/03/situs-download-wallpaper-full-hd.html
    Aplikasi Screenshot Android http://www.berponsel.com/2015/07/4-aplikasi-Screenshot-Android.html
    Aplikasi Kamera Autofokus android http://www.berponsel.com/2016/02/aplikasi-kamera-autofocus-untuk-android.html
    Aplikasi streaming bola http://www.berponsel.com/2016/02/2-aplikasi-streaming-bola-android.html
    game android terpopuler http://www.berponsel.com/2016/02/game-android-terpopuler-terbaik-gratis.html
    Aplikasi keyboard android http://www.berponsel.com/2015/07/4-aplikasi-keyboard-android-terbaik-2015.html
    download game ygopro android http://www.berponsel.com/2016/02/game-ygopro-untuk-android-ios-pc.html
    game android RPG Offline http://www.berponsel.com/2015/12/game-android-rpg-offline-terbaik.html
    harga samsung galaxy http://www.berponsel.com/2016/02/harga-hp-android-samsung-galaxy.html
    apa itu bravia engine dan x reality http://www.berponsel.com/2015/05/apa-itu-mobile-bravia-engine-triluminos.html
    Game Asah Otak http://www.berponsel.com/2015/06/kumpulan-game-asah-otak-android-terkeren.html

    Posted by berponsel.com, 04/08/2016 6:40pm (6 months ago)

  • Situs BandarQ Terpercaya @ http://www.asianqq.com
    Situs Poker Uang Asli @ http://www.asianqq.com
    Judi Domino 99 @ http://www.asianqq.com

    Posted by Situs BandarQ Terpercaya, 04/08/2016 4:33pm (6 months ago)

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments