THE BENNETT BLOG

Kapiti Coast Case Study

Posted by Sarah Cavanagh, Nikki Shaw on 24 August 2015 | 1233 Comments

Interested in setting up an adult fiction profile with James Bennett?

Read this case study from Kapiti Coast District Libraries who kindly shared their experience for our Adult Fiction Month.

Kapiti Coast District Libraries Case Study

Standing orders
We established a fiction standing order list with James Bennett, and basically began work on it with discussions at our very first meeting with staff from James Bennett.  Sarah Phillpot explained how the kits and selection lists worked, as well as explaining how James Bennett could provide profiled orders (standing order lists of authors most popular in our library).
 
Likes/Dislikes
May I quote Frank Zappa:  “So many books, so little time!”  You can take that as a like or a dislike!
 
How do we discover new authors
Looking at the New Releases lists, “What’s Hot,” subheadings under Fiction and poring through the selection lists provided based on our community’s favourite authors (including more than just our standing orders here).
 
Do we keep dead authors on our profile
Jane Austen isn’t there but we appreciate that sometimes reprints and reissues for our ‘dead’ or very prolific authors who’ve been writing since they were 5 show up on our lists.  It’s important to have those reprints and reissues clearly noted, though, so we can skip over them if we’re not interested.
 
Which authors do we like or don’t like
We’re a public library and as such cater to popular tastes so we may not always order some of the more literary titles; however, it’s great that James Bennett includes Literature as a heading so we can decide if there’s something there which would appeal to our more literary-minded readers.
 
How often do we update our standing orders/profile
Our plan is to do this annually.  We’ve recently run a “favourite authors” programme in the branches and on Facebook during Matariki and want to ensure we’re getting everything our community wants on our standing order list.
 
What is the relationship like with the James Bennett profiling team/Who do they usually call/email
I contact Nikki Shaw, Sarah Phillpot and Sarah Cavanagh, too.  We’re always referred to the right people if they can’t answer themselves.  We’ll remain forever in the Sarahs’ debt for staying silent about the Cricket World Cup on one our phone conferences which happened just the day after New Zealand’s brilliant run ended at the hands of the Aussies!  The soul of diplomacy, those two dear ladies!
 
Do we receive our titles quickly?
Like lightning!
 
Any questions

Jane George
Team Leader Paraparaumu Library
Poutoko Mātāpuna
Kāpiti Coast District Council
www.kapiticoast.govt.nz

Want to talk to us about adult fiction supply to YOUR library?

Contact your account manager today!

 



Post your comment

Comments

  • Many men don't know if their prescription drug plan covers a monthly supply of for daily use.

    Posted by generic_cialis, 07/10/2016 11:37pm (3 months ago)

  • Obat Maag Untuk Anak Dan Dewasa yang Ampuh @ http://www.pusatprodukherbal.com/obat-maag-untuk-anak-dan-dewasa-yang-ampuh/
    Cara Ampuh Mengempeskan Benjolan Di Ketiak Secara Alami @ http://kedaiwildanherbaloriginal30.blogspot.co.id/2016/10/cara-ampuh-mengempeskan-benjolan-di.html
    Obat Tumor Hati Terbaru @ http://obatkelenjargetahbeningdileher.web.id/obat-tumor-hati-terbaru-dan-terampuh/
    Obat Demam Chikungunya @ http://obatlepratradisional.com/obat-demam-chikungunya/
    Obat Gondok Tiroid Tradisional @ http://obatbatuempedu.net/obat-gondok-tiroid-tradisional/
    Obat Paling Ampuh Mengatasi Perut Kembung @ http://ardiherbal.com/obat-paling-ampuh-mengatasi-perut-kembung/
    Obat Kelenjar Getah Bening Di Leher Manjur @ http://obatkelenjargetahbeningdilehermanjur7.blogspot.com/
    Cara Menghilangkan Panu Kadas Kurap dengan Cepat @ http://www.penjualqncjellygamat.com/cara-menghilangkan-panu-kadas-kurap-dengan-cepat/
    Thanks.......

    Posted by Obat Kelenjar Getah Bening Di Leher Manjur, 07/10/2016 5:36pm (3 months ago)

  • share in follow::
    Cara Mengatasi Infeksi Lambung Sampai Tuntas @ http://www.obatlukaborokbernanahdanberair.com/2016/10/cara-mengatasi-infeksi-lambung-sampai.html
    Cara Ampuh Mengempeskan Benjolan Di Belakang Telinga @ http://www.pusatprodukherbal.com/cara-ampuh-mengempeskan-benjolan-di-belakang-telinga/
    Obat Flek Hitam Paru-Paru @ http://obatkelenjargetahbeningdileher.web.id/obat-flek-hitam-paru-paru-terampuh/
    Obat Penghancur Darah Beku Tradisional @ http://nabil-herbalalami19.blogspot.com/2015/05/obat-penghancur-darah-beku-tradisional.html
    Obat Gagal Ginjal Akut dan Kronis Mujarab @ http://harmoniherbalalami19.blogspot.com/2016/04/obat-gagal-ginjal-akut-dan-kronis.html
    Obat Dispepsia Untuk Ibu Hamil @ http://agenjellygamatgoldgbioseacucumbersite.blogspot.com/2015/06/obat-dispepsia-untuk-ibu-hamil.html
    Obat Eksim Kering Menahun Tradisional @ http://pengobatangondokberacunalami999.blogspot.com/2015/12/obat-eksim-kering-menahun-tradisional.html
    Pengobatan Penyakit Gondok Termutakhir Yang Aman @ http://fahreziagenherbalalami19.blogspot.com/2015/10/pengobatan-penyakit-gondok-termutakhir.html
    Obat Psoriasis Di Kulit Kepala Tradisional @http://obatjellygamatgold-gmurahdanasli.blogspot.com/2015/08/obat-psoriasis-di-kulit-kepala.html
    Thanks.......

    Posted by Kedai Obat Eye Care Softgel, 06/10/2016 5:01pm (4 months ago)

  • Now you can get free psn codes and gift card codes through which you can take the games at the PlayStation easily by just doing very few steps.

    Posted by psn codes, 05/10/2016 6:21pm (4 months ago)

  • Follow this:
    Obat Herbal terbaik Untuk Mata Berkabut @ http://www.pusatprodukherbal.com/obat-herbal-terbaik-untuk-mata-berkabut/
    Cara Cepat Menghilangkan Komedo Hitam di Pipi @ http://obatkelenjargetahbeningdileher.web.id/cara-cepat-menghilangkan-komedo-hitam-di-pipi/
    Cara Ampuh Mengempeskan Benjolan Di Selangkangan @ http://www.penjualqncjellygamat.com/cara-ampuh-mengempeskan-benjolan-di-selangkangan/
    Cara Menghilangkan Mata Ikan Dengan Cepat @ http://www.obatlukaborokbernanahdanberair.com/2016/05/cara-menghilangkan-mata-ikan-dengan.html
    Obat Sakit Ulu Hati Sampai Ke Punggung @ http://obatlepratradisional.com/obat-sakit-ulu-hati-sampai-ke-punggung/
    Obat Ginjal Bengkak Alami Terampuh @ http://obatbatuempedu.net/obat-ginjal-bengkak-alami-terampuh/
    Obat Tradisional Gastroenteritis @ http://ardiherbal.com/obat-tradisional-gastroenteritis-terampuh/
    Thanks.......

    Posted by Obat Luka Borok, 05/10/2016 6:14pm (4 months ago)


  • I do not know if it’s just me or if everyone else experiencing
    issues with your site. It appears as though some of the text within your posts
    are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedbackThis might be a problem with my internet browser because I’ve had
    this happen before.

    Posted by Halloween images 2016, 05/10/2016 4:55am (4 months ago)

  • Follow:
    Suplemen Herbal Penyubur Sperma Pria Terbukti Ampuh @ http://www.pusatprodukherbal.com/suplemen-herbal-penyubur-sperma-pria-terbukti-ampuh/
    Cara Menghilangkan Bekas Jerawat Berlubang Secara Alami @ http://obatbatuempedu.net/cara-menghilangkan-bekas-jerawat-berlubang-secara-alami/
    Cara Mengatasi Pegal Linu di Tangan Secara Alami @ http://www.penjualqncjellygamat.com/cara-mengatasi-pegal-linu-di-tangan-secara-alami/
    Obat Sakit Ulu Hati Tradisional @ http://www.obatlukaborokbernanahdanberair.com/2016/05/obat-sakit-ulu-hati-tradisional.html
    Pengobatan Alternatif Kanker Usus Besar @ http://obatkelenjargetahbeningdileher.web.id/pengobatan-alternatif-kanker-usus-besar-terampuh/
    Obat Penyempitan Tulang Punggung Tradisional @ http://obatlepratradisional.com/obat-penyempitan-tulang-punggung-tradisional/
    Cara Mengatasi Lambung Bermasalah @ http://ardiherbal.com/cara-mengatasi-lambung-bermasalah-terampuh/
    Thanks.......

    Posted by Obat Lepra Tradisional, 03/10/2016 6:20pm (4 months ago)

  • this site very nice http://pusatprodukherbal.com ok!

    Posted by Cara Mengatasi Perih Di Lambung Dengan Cepat, 03/10/2016 11:27am (4 months ago)

  • Very nice and always successful.
    This is a very good article.
    I'm waiting for you the other article.
    Thank's.

    Posted by Data Keluaran Togel Singapura, 02/10/2016 7:16pm (4 months ago)

  • Thank you

    Posted by Easter 2017, 01/10/2016 10:07am (4 months ago)

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments