BOOK AWARDSCBCA Shortlist 2016

20 May 2016

The Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) has announced their Short List for 2016. They were announced at midday as part of their 12th National Conference. This year, the Book of The Year Awards celebrates its 70th anniversary making it the longest running book awards in Australia. From the small list of books entered in 1946, entries have now grown to over 400, highlighting the strength and richness of Australian publishing for children, and the talent of those who create the books. The CBCA Book of the Year awards are extremely influential in children’s publishing and bookselling, promoting quality children's books for schools, libraries and the community at large.

National Chair Professor Margot Hillel OAM said, “For over 70 years The Children’s Book Council has made a significant contribution to the success of Australian children’s publishing, an important part of our unique Australian culture and heritage. The CBCA Book of the Year Awards celebrates the wonderful writing and illustrating of Australian creators who produce books for children from the earliest years to upper secondary. The Short List this year once again reflects the high standard of children’s literature in Australia and the CBCA looks forward to promoting Australian children’s literature to new generations of young readers.”

For more information please go to their website


Book of the Year: Older Readers

ERIN GOUGH, The Flywheel, Hardie Grant Egmont

JOHN LARKIN, The Pause, Penguin Random House

SUE LAWSON, Freedom Ride, Black Dog/Walker

MEG McKINLAY, A Single Stone, Walker Books

VIKKI WAKEFIELD, InBetween Days, Text

FIONA WOOD, Cloudwish, Pan Macmillan

Book of the Year: Younger Readers

LIBBY GLEESON/FREYA BLACKWOOD, The Cleo Stories: A Friend and a Pet, Allen & Unwin

MORRIS GLEITZMAN, Soon, Penguin Random House

J.C. JONES, Run, Pip, Run, Allen & Unwin

SALLY MORGAN, Sister Heart, Fremantle Press

MARTINE MURRAY, Molly and Pim and the Millions of Stars, Text

EMILY RODDA, Shadows of the Master, Omnibus

Book of the Year: Early Childhood

AARON BLABEY, Piranhas Don't Eat Bananas, Scholastic Press

RONOJOY GHOSH, Ollie and the Wind, Random House

ALISON LESTER, My Dog Bigsy, Penguin Random House


ANNA WALKER, Mr Huff, Penguin Random House

TONY WILSON, The Cow Tripped Over the Moon, Scholastic Press

Picture Book of the Year

SHANE DEVRIES/PHIL CUMMINGS, Ride, Ricardo, Ride!, Omnibus

JAMES FOLEY/SIGI COHEN, My Dead Bunny, Walker Books Australia


SALLY EINRICH/JANE JOLLY, One Step at a Time, MidnightSun Publishing

MATT OTTLEY/LUCY ESTELA, Suri's Wall, Penguin Random House

BRUCE WHATLEY/ERIC BOGLE, And the Band Played Waltzing Matilda, Allen & Unwin

Eve Pownall Award for Information Books

ROHAN CLEAVE/CAROL TULLOCH, Saving the Lord Howe Island Stick Insect, CSIRO Publishing

PETER GOULDTHORPE, The White Mouse: The Story of Nancy Wake, Omnibus

FIONA KATAUSKAS, The Amazing True Story of How Babies Are Made, ABC Books

STEPHANIE OWEN REEDER, Lennie The Legend: Solo to Sydney by Pony, NLA Publishing

ROBYN SIERS/CARLIE WALKER, Ancestry: Stories of Multicultural Anzacs, Dept of Veterans' Affairs

CLARE WRIGHT,  We are the Rebels: the Men and Women who Made Eureka, Text